FIJI

Y’all, I just came back from a trip of a lifetime hosted by favorite travel brand Haitian Nomad! Take a few minutes to join me on my journey on this Mystery Trip 2022!

All journeys have secret destinations of which the traveler is unaware.

Martin Buber

Now, when I say this trip was a mystery, I mean we paid for every detail of this trip to be a secret! Literally, the description of the trip read: “We will take care of every detail, and you’ll find out where you’re going on the day of your flight!” All we knew prior to the reveal was this trip would be “a relaxing vacation, beautiful beaches and a laid back atmosphere with great cultural experiences.” Let’s fast forward to a week before the trip when yours truly started to pack! Even though I knew this trip would be in a tropical location and was advised to pack swimsuits, water shoes, and other important summer essentials, packing was still tricky! Not having an itinerary is not for the weary! I am proud to say I remained #teamcarryon and packed all of the outfits you’ll see below!

The day finally arrived, and there I was, standing at the airport counter at LAX with 12 other excited travelers anxiously waiting for the reveal. Once the destination, Fiji, was revealed we all knew this trip would be nothing but amazing!!

Now, let’s get to the trip! Join me on my photo journey over 8000 miles away from home!!

Hotel: Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island, Fiji

Our itinerary was pretty light but included a few adventures away from Tokoriki Island:

  1. Next level bar experience: Cloud 9 is Fiji’s first and original two level floating platform surrounded by turquoise blue water and picturesque views with an internationally stocked cocktail bar and Italian wood-fired pizzeria. It was definitely a vibe!
  2. Monuriki/Castaway Island: The very island where Tom Hanks was filmed stranded on a deserted island with only a volleyball! The island was perfect, the sand clear, the water warm and very few tourists other than our group. We spent time on the island soaking up the sun and had a ball!
  3. Village tour: Yanuya Island, Fiji, home to around 500 people. Once we arrived in the village we were welcomed by the village elders and had the privilege of watching a kava ceremony, a tradition that dates back to ancient times. Following the ceremony, we learned about day to day life and the logistics of living on a remote island. Finally, we ended our time in the village with a visit to the Namamanuca Primary School, where we were greeted warmly by the students. The trip to the village was definitely one of the highlights of my trip!

Everything about this trip was excellent and it was everything I needed in this season of my life! I am beyond grateful for Haitian Nomad and the strangers who become good friends!

Cheers to many more adventures around the globe!

Sending my love and light to all of you!

XOXO

Leave a comment