Free to wander…

Travel isn’t always pretty. It isn’t always comfortable. Sometimes it hurts, it even breaks your heart. But that’s okay. The journey changes you; it should change you. It leaves marks on your memory, on your consciousness, on your heart, and on your body. You take something with you. Hopefully, you leave something good behind. 

-Anthony Bourdain

 

20160606_170506
Il Sentiero degli Dei – The Amalfi Coast – Positano

2016 was my year for traveling. I went away as often as my job would allow and as far as my money would stretch. Along the way I learned that traveling is not as expensive or as scary as people think. I travel because my heart yearns to see the beauty that is scattered all over the world. I travel because society says black women don’t travel.

By December 31, 2016 I had traveled to 10 different destinations, 5 international and 5 domestic. Every other month was a weekend trip out of state or a week-long trip abroad. Each and every trip was part of my desire to see the world with my own eyes and I learned so much about myself, the world and others along the way. 

20160610_101953
Amalfi Coast – Italy

Getting out of my comfort zone is my lifelong goal and each trip has helped me to see the world with a clearer perspective. The world is far too big to only know my neighborhood, my city, my state and these trips have increased my desire to see more of the world. It has been a privilege to be a part of these life changing experiences and I look forward to the adventures that will come with 2017.

2b5a8818

The magic is in learning to enjoy the ride through this journey called life…

Leave a Reply

