Let those walls come down…

Someone recently commented that I was different from the person they originally met last year and I considered her comment for a moment and honestly all I could say was “I don’t know who I was back then but I’m not her anymore.” I count it a blessing to be able to grow and mature as I continue this journey with Christ. I am not perfect and I pray that I continue to become a better me but I am so thankful that even though I am not where I want to be God chooses to use me.

One of today’s many lessons: God wants to use us in every area of our lives. There is no part of me that He should be withheld from and honestly that can be hard. I have had some relationships that were truly one sided and only served the interests of the other party and upon realizing the truth those relationships had to end. Even though those people were no longer active in my life that part of me was left scarred. After it was all said and done I unconsciously guarded myself against further harm by essentially not being open to new relationships. This was a “great” idea at the time but in doing so I actually kept God from healing my brokenness. I often need to be reminded that God can and will heal my brokenness and make me whole again IF I allow Him to. So regardless of past relationships that have subsequently left me hurt and have caused me to put up walls time and time again I am choosing to allow God to use those area of my life for His glory.

With all of that being said I believe that God allows me to meet new people for a reason. Some relationships last for years and others may only last for a few minutes. The direction that these relationships go in is up to those involved but I’ve learned that when I decide to look past my self interest and seek God for direction He has a beautiful way of revealing things to me. I used to wonder why people were so open when they shared with me and I believe that part of this interaction is God’s way of giving me their prayer requests…all without me having to ask. Once given this information it is up to me to be intentional about taking those prayers up to Him. Though I may be apprehensive at first when it comes to meeting new people I believe that God has a greater purpose than I can ever imagine and He won’t lead me where He hasn’t already prepared a way. I place my trust in His direction.

Cheers to making new friends and forever maturing into the Queen/King God created you to be.

Be blessed.

Leave a Reply

