Dark skinned

10/23/14

While away on a much needed retreat I stumbled across a heart breaking post on Instagram. A 14 year old African American girl posted screen shots of a young girl of an unknown race commenting on a photograph of her family. This young aggressor posted the comments “blacks=”accidentally” burned by God” and “you’re ew, ugly. You’re black”.

Being an Haitian American woman of a darker complexion, this form of hate hit very close to home. I grew up disliking the color of my skin. I was teased and put down and never felt comfortable in my own skin. At several points in my life, I questioned if I were a mistake that God had made. It was a horrible time in my life but I thank God for opening my eyes and helping me to see that He makes NO mistakes. Each and every one of us is created in God’s image and we are fearfully and wonderfully made.

I understand now that everything that I’ve experienced whether in the past, present or future will be used by God to encourage someone else. I pray that you see how beautiful you truly are regardless of the lies you’ve been told.

Genesis 1:27 So God created man in his own image. in the image of God he created him, male and female he created them.

Psalm 139: 14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made, your works are wonderful, I know that full well.

Leave a Reply

